Meet… Oprah Winfrey

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The series Meet… allows teachers to take a break to introduce certain personalities to their students. Today, we are interested in an exceptional woman, Oprah Winfrey, and her particular interview technique.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

“We cannot ignore Oprah Winfrey, the first black woman billionaire. In the 1970s, at just 19, she became the first black woman to host the newscast in Nashville. She is also the first African-American woman to own her own production company. Finally, she set up a school for young girls in South Africa in 1997 in order to offer them the education necessary to help them emancipate themselves. » 

Source: Noovomoi.ca

Indeed, the name of Oprah Winfrey is associated with several "firsts" for the community of Black women. Having hosted for 17 years the television show The Oprah Winfrey Show, she was a pioneer in the world of talk show and gradually took its place in the American Showbizz. In 2004, she hosted the concert alongside Tom Cruise where the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded. The businesswoman also publishes two magazines and has co-authored five books, in addition to owning a Web page with more than 70 million pages about her. She has been called the most powerful woman in the world by CNN and Time.com for the past few years! Even though her show is no longer airing, Oprah will remain a television great and a source of inspiration for many!

To learn more about Oprah (you can use DigiRead to purify the pages which present too many advertisements in order to facilitate the reading):

Here is also an episode that had made people talk, the one where Oprah receives a woman who has undergone more than 20 plastic surgeries. (The episode is in English!) Listening to it can serve as the premise for an interesting discussion, in French or in English.

 

Suggested Activities

To get all the activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

À la rencontre de… Oprah Winfrey

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

La série À la rencontre de… permet aux enseignant(e)s de prendre une pause pour faire connaître certaines personnalités à leurs élèves. Aujourd’hui, on s’intéresse à une femme d’exception, Oprah Winfrey, et à sa technique d'entrevue particulière.
Classification des activités :

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

« On ne peut passer sous silence Oprah Winfrey, première femme noire milliardaire. Dans les années ’70, âgée d’à peine 19 ans, elle devenait la première Noire à animer le bulletin de nouvelles à Nashville. Elle est également la première femme afro-américaine à posséder sa propre compagnie de production. Enfin, elle a mis sur pied une école pour jeunes filles en Afrique du Sud en 1997 afin de leur offrir l’éducation nécessaire pour les aider à s’émanciper. » 

Source : Noovomoi.ca

En effet, le nom d’Oprah Winfrey est associé à plusieurs « premières fois » pour la communauté des femmes Noires. Ayant animé pendant 17 ans l’émission télévisée The Oprah Winfrey Show, elle a été précurseure dans le monde du Talk Show et a pris sa place peu à peu dans le Showbizz américain. En 2004, elle a d’ailleurs animé aux côtés de Tom Cruise le concert où avait lieu la remise du prix Nobel de la paix. La femme d’affaires publie également deux magazines et a coécrit cinq livres, en plus de posséder une page Web où on retrouve plus de 70 millions de pages la concernant. Elle a été qualifiée de femme la plus puissante du monde par CNN et Time.com dans les dernières années! Même si son émission n’est plus diffusée, Oprah restera une grande de la télévision et une source d’inspiration pour plusieurs!

Pour en apprendre davantage sur Oprah (on peut utiliser DigiRead pour épurer les pages qui présentent trop de publicités afin de faciliter la lecture) :

Voici également un épisode qui avait fait jaser, celui où Oprah reçoit une femme ayant subi plus de 20 chirurgies plastiques. (L’épisode est en anglais!) Son écoute peut servir de prémisse à une intéressante discussion, en français ou en anglais.

 

Suggestions d’activités

Pour obtenir toutes les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir