March 8, International Women's Day

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

March 8 marks Women's Day. SCOOP! offers many ideas for activities to mark this day and let students know the path women had to take to achieve equality.

Every March 8, many countries around the world celebrate Women's Day. Debates and demonstrations are organized everywhere in favor of his rights. The date was definitively formalized by the United Nations in 1977. However, it is also considered that it celebrates its 103 years this year since in “1910, in Copenhagen, during the second conference of theSocialist Women's International, the idea of an “International Women's Day” is adopted, on a proposal from Clara Zetkin, representative of the Socialist Party of Germany, without a date being brought forward. "
Source: Wikipedia
Again in 2013, women are sometimes victims of discrimination and inequality vis-à-vis men. The media regularly highlight the differences in salaries for the same position between a man and a woman, the difficulties for a woman to access a position of high responsibility, or even domestic violence of which women are most often victims.
This year, SCOOP! invites you to mark this day in a positive way by celebrating the women present in the lives of the students. Also, the proposed activities will make it possible to talk about women who have marked history, the major dates in the struggle of women and the relevance, even today, to fight for women's rights.
 


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- Understand the basics of feminism;
- Analyze the place of women by leafing through several newspapers;
- List the women who are in the news at the moment;
- Know the important dates in the history of women's struggle;
- Name the inequalities that women still suffer from;
- Think about the place of an important woman in their life;
- Make a production written about a woman important to him;
- Name women who have marked history;
- Prepare a written or oral presentation on one of these women;
- Give her opinion on one of the fights of women.
 


Suggested activities

ACTIVITY 1: Reactivating knowledge

To watch:
Brainpop video clip on feminism
In order to introduce the theme of Women's Day, here is an animation suggestion to watch. This BrainPop animation, lasting about 5 min. 30, explain to students what feminism is and briefly relate its history.
 

ACTIVITY 2: Exceptional women

Several women, contemporary or not, have made history in the world and have contributed to improving the status of women. As a first activity, brainstorm with the students. What famous women in history can they name? Record student responses on the board or in appropriate brainstorming software.
Here are some examples of possible answers: Simone de Beauvoir, George Sand, Marie Curie, Rosa Parks, Simone Veil…
If they haven't mentioned these names, ask them to quickly research why they are known in history.
Then, as a whole class, sort all the names mentioned into different categories: literature, politics and science. If needed, add more categories. Software such as Inspiration or an interactive whiteboard will prove particularly useful here to facilitate this classification.

Click on the image to enlarge.
Download the source file in Inspiration (.isf) format
Download the file in PDF format (.pdf)

Then, in teams, the students will choose one of the named women and research her in order to make a written or oral presentation (of 5 minutes). They will be able to search encyclopedias and the Internet, paying particular attention to sources of information and the reliability of websites.
The pupils will have to give biographical information, explain why it marked history, what were its functions, its distinctions, and its role, what were its struggles. Students will also have to justify their choice for this woman and say how they find her example interesting.
 

ACTIVITY 3: Women at the heart of the news

On Women's Day, invite students to bring newspapers from March 8 and the previous few days to class. Their job will consist of leafing through them and identifying which women are in the news at the moment and analyzing their role and place in the information contained in the newspapers.

Click on the image to enlarge.
Download the source file in Inspiration (.isf) format
Download the file in PDF format (.pdf)

 

ACTIVITY 4: Women's struggle

For many years, women have fought to have their rights recognized and to denounce the inequalities between men and women.
In groups, the students will have to explore the file and identify the important dates in the women's struggle. They will then have to reflect on the inequalities that women still experience in the world today.
They can present it all in a diagram like this:

Click on the image to enlarge.
Download the source file in Inspiration (.isf) format
Download the file in PDF format (.pdf)

Among the various events in the history of women's struggle, which one seems the most important to the students? Why?
What rights could women still fight for?
 

ACTIVITY 5: My heroine, it's her!

Often, when we think of the struggle of women in history, we think of women who marked their time or their field by the grandiose things they accomplished. Yet, very close to us too, exceptional women make our lives more pleasant every day.
For this activity, the pupils will choose a woman whom they admire in their entourage. No celebrities, just someone close to them.
This woman can be their mother, teacher, bus driver, baker, doctor, etc.
Give them time to choose their important person, and then to think about the following questions:

Click on the image to enlarge.
Download the source file in Inspiration (.isf) format
Download the file in PDF format (.pdf)

Then they can choose one of the following two activities:
- write a poem in which they express the importance that this woman has for them;
- or write a journalistic style article in which they have fun presenting this woman as if they were journalists.
Let their creativity dictate the rest of the instructions!
At the end, invite them to introduce this exceptional woman by posting their creations on the class blog or on their personal blog.
 

ACTIVITY 6: Informing others

Are the other students in the school aware of the existence of this day? To ensure this, suggest that students organize a school-wide communication campaign. They will have to ensure that the information is transmitted in a simple and precise manner.
Ideas: informative posters to put up in the corridors, production of a video capsule broadcast on the Internet, theatrical staging to play at noon, etc.
 

ACTIVITY 7: What do you think?

As a conclusion, ask students why is it still relevant today to have such a day? Do some people feel that women and men are equal? Invite them to interview women they know (mother, grandmother, aunt, etc.) on this question and to write a short “interview” -type text. Remember to review this activity as a large group to generate discussion or awareness.
 


More about the magazine

The history of Women's Day
UNESCO site
The history of women's struggle
List of major historical dates in the struggle of women in the world
Carrefour-Éducation thematic guide
A complete kit of ideas for activities on the subject!
Resources on the topic for Activinspire software (in English)
On Promethean Planet (English)

Classification of activities:

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

8 mars, journée internationale de la femme

Paru le

Tous les 8 mars, de nombreux pays dans le monde célèbrent la Journée de la femme. Des débats et des manifestations sont organisés un peu partout en faveur de ses droits. La date a définitivement été officialisée par les Nations unies en 1977. Cependant, on considère aussi qu’elle fête ses 103 ans cette année puisqu’en « 1910, à Copenhague, lors de la deuxième conférence de l’Internationale socialiste des femmes, l’idée d’une « Journée internationale des femmes » est adoptée, sur une proposition de Clara Zetkin, représentante du Parti socialiste d’Allemagne, sans qu’une date soit avancée. »
Source : Wikipédia
Encore en 2013, la femme est parfois victime de discrimination et d’inégalité face aux hommes. Les médias soulignent régulièrement les différences de salaires pour un même poste entre un homme et une femme, les difficultés pour une femme d’accéder à un poste à haute responsabilité, ou encore les violences conjugales dont les femmes sont le plus souvent victimes.
Cette année, SCOOP! vous propose de souligner cette journée de façon positive en célébrant les femmes présentes dans la vie des élèves. Aussi, les activités proposées permettront de parler de femmes qui ont marqué l’histoire, des grandes dates de la lutte des femmes et de la pertinence, encore aujourd’hui, de combattre pour les droits des femmes.
 


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– Comprendre les bases du féminisme;
– Analyser la place de la femme en feuilletant plusieurs journaux;
– Énumérer les femmes qui font l’actualité en ce moment;
– Connaître les dates importantes de l’histoire de la lutte des femmes;
– Nommer des inégalités que subissent encore les femmes;
– Réfléchir à la place d’une femme importante dans leur vie;
– Réaliser une production écrite sur une femme importante pour lui;
– Nommer des femmes qui ont marqué l’histoire;
– Préparer une présentation écrite ou orale sur l’une de ces femmes;
– Donner son opinion sur l’un des combats des femmes.
 


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Réactivation des connaissances

À visionner:
Capsule vidéo de Brainpop sur le féminisme
Afin d’introduire le thème de la journée de la femme, voici une suggestion d’animation à regarder. Cette animation de BrainPop, d’une durée d’environ 5 min. 30, explique aux élèves ce qu’est le féminisme et relate brièvement son histoire.
 

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Des femmes d’exception

Plusieurs femmes, contemporaines ou non, ont marqué l’histoire dans le monde et ont contribué à améliorer le statut de la femme. Effectuez, comme première activité, un remue-méninges avec les élèves. Quelles femmes célèbres de l’histoire peuvent-ils nommer ? Notez les réponses des élèves au tableau ou dans un logiciel approprié pour le remue-méninges.
Voici des exemples de réponses possibles : Simone de Beauvoir, George Sand, Marie Curie, Rosa Parks, Simone Veil…
S’ils n’ont pas cité ces noms, demandez-leur de chercher rapidement pourquoi elles sont connues dans l’histoire.
Ensuite, en classe entière, classez tous les noms cités en différentes catégories : littérature, politique et sciences. Si besoin, ajoutez plus de catégories. Un logiciel comme Inspiration ou un tableau blanc interactif s’avèreront ici particulièrement utiles pour faciliter ce classement.

Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir.
Télécharger le fichier source en format Inspiration (.isf)
Télécharger le fichier en format PDF (.pdf)

Ensuite, en équipes, les élèves vont choisir l’une des femmes nommées et faire des recherches sur elle afin d’en faire une présentation écrite ou orale (de 5 minutes). Ils pourront faire des recherches dans des encyclopédies et sur Internet, en étant particulièrement attentifs aux sources des informations et à la fiabilité des sites Web.
Les élèves devront donner des informations biographiques, expliquer pourquoi elle a marqué l’histoire, quelles ont été ses fonctions, ses distinctions, et son rôle, quels ont été ses combats. Les élèves devront aussi justifier leur choix pour cette femme et dire en quoi ils trouvent que son exemple est intéressant.
 

ACTIVITÉ 3 : La femme au cœur de l’actualité

À l’occasion de la Journée de la femme, invitez les élèves à apporter en classe des journaux du 8 mars et des quelques journées précédentes. Leur travail va consister à les feuilleter et à repérer quelles sont les femmes qui font l’actualité en ce moment et analyser leur rôle et leur place dans l’information contenue dans les journaux.

Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir.
Télécharger le fichier source en format Inspiration (.isf)
Télécharger le fichier en format PDF (.pdf)

 

ACTIVITÉ 4 : La lutte des femmes

Depuis de nombreuses années, les femmes se sont battues pour faire reconnaître leurs droits et dénoncer les inégalités entre les hommes et les femmes.
Par groupes, les élèves devront explorer le dossier et repérer les dates importantes de la lutte des femmes. Ils devront ensuite réfléchir aux inégalités que subissent les femmes encore aujourd’hui dans le monde.
Ils pourront présenter le tout dans un schéma comme celui-ci :

Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir.
Télécharger le fichier source en format Inspiration (.isf)
Télécharger le fichier en format PDF (.pdf)

Parmi les différents événements dans l’histoire de la lutte des femmes, lequel semble le plus important pour les élèves? Pourquoi?
Pour quels droits encore les femmes pourraient-elles lutter?
 

ACTIVITÉ 5 : Mon héroïne, c’est elle!

Souvent, lorsqu’on pense au combat des femmes dans l’histoire, on pense à des femmes qui ont marqué leur époque ou leur domaine par les choses grandioses qu’elles ont accompli. Pourtant, tout près de nous aussi, des femmes d’exception rendent nos vies plus agréables chaque jour.
Pour cette activité, les élèves vont choisir une femme qu’ils admirent dans leur entourage. Pas de célébrités, seulement une personne proche d’eux.
Cette femme peut être leur mère, leur enseignante, leur conductrice d’autobus, la boulangère, leur médecin, etc.
Donnez-leur du temps pour faire le choix de leur personne importante, puis de réfléchir aux questions suivantes :

Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir.
Télécharger le fichier source en format Inspiration (.isf)
Télécharger le fichier en format PDF (.pdf)

Ensuite, ils pourront choisir l’une des deux activités suivantes :
– rédiger un poème dans lequel ils expriment l’importance que cette femme a pour eux;
– ou rédiger un article de style journalistique dans lequel ils s’amusent à présenter cette femme comme s’ils étaient des journalistes.
Laissez leur créativité dicter le reste des consignes!
À la fin, invitez-les à présenter cette femme d’exception en publiant leurs créations sur le blogue de la classe ou sur leur blogue personnel.
 

ACTIVITÉ 6 : Informer les autres

Les autres élèves de l’école sont-ils au courant de l’existence de cette journée? Pour s’en assurer, proposez aux élèves d’organiser une campagne de communication à l’échelle de l’école. Ils devront s’assurer de transmettre l’information de façon simple et précise.
Idées : affiches informatives à placarder dans les corridors, production d’une capsule vidéo diffusée sur Internet, mise en scène théâtrale à jouer sur l’heure du midi, etc.
 

ACTIVITÉ 7 : Qu’en pensez-vous?

Comme conclusion, demandez aux élèves pourquoi est-ce encore pertinent aujourd’hui de tenir une telle journée? Certains ont-ils l’impression que les femmes et les hommes sont égaux? Invitez-les à interroger des femmes qu’ils côtoient (mère, grand-mère, tante, etc.) sur cette question et à rédiger un court texte de type « interview ». N’oubliez pas de faire un retour en grand groupe sur cette activité pour susciter la discussion ou la prise de conscience.
 


Pour en savoir plus

L’histoire de la Journée de la femme
Site de l’UNESCO
L’histoire de la lutte des femmes
Liste des grandes dates historiques de la lutte des femmes dans le monde
Guide thématique Carrefour-Éducation
Une trousse complète d’idées d’activités sur le sujet!
Ressources sur le sujet pour le logiciel Activinspire (en anglais)
Sur Promethean Planet (anglais)

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

L’avion solaire contraint d’interrompre son voyage

L'avion Solar Impulse, propulsée par la seule énergie solaire, a décollé de Chine vers Hawaï, mais vient d’interrompre son voyage au Japon. Allons voir de plus près les différentes étapes de ce tour du monde réalisé avec comme seul carburant l’énergie solaire.

Le cannabis à l’heure de la légalisation

La légalisation du cannabis a fait couler beaucoup d'encre depuis quelques temps. Le jour J étant maintenant derrière nous, nous sommes à même de constater que les points de vue continuent de se polariser chez la population et que plusieurs éléments demeurent flous dans la nouvelle règlementation adoptée autant au fédéral qu'au provincial.

Une journée pour les droits de l’homme

Bouleversements dans le monde arabe, mouvement des indignés… Depuis deux ans, les droits humains sont vraiment au cœur de l’actualité. Aujourd’hui, 10 décembre, on souligne la Journée internationale des droits de l’homme.