3 good things to remember from the last year: well-being, co-education and digital skills

On May 28, the Federation of Quebec Parents' Committees (FCPQ) presented the festive digital meeting. During this evening, Stéphanie Dionne, from École branchée, was invited to name 3 success stories from the education community in this very special year.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

On May 28, the Federation of Quebec Parents' Committees (FCPQ) presented the festive digital meeting, a virtual evening offered free of charge to all parents during which our colleague Stéphanie Dionne was invited to name 3 good shots from the middle of the education in this very special year.

By this beautiful Friday evening, the spirit was at the party to underline all the progress made during the last year, not only by the pupils, but also by their parents who supported them in their school course and in their personal life. . 

At the end of the evening, Stéphanie Dionne presented the 3 good moves of digital. These are based on the observations and experiences of the École branchée team over the past year. Moreover, these successes were supported by the testimonies of the students present during the evening, who came to talk about their extraordinary year and what made the difference for them.

Let's take the time to name them here to thank them: 

  • Nathan Acheampong, École Curé-Antoine-Labelle, CSS de Laval;
  • Amélia Drouin, Grande-Rivière high school, CSS des Portages-de-l'Outaouais;
  • Broderick Flannigan, École secondaire de l'Île, CSS des Portages-de-l'Outaouais;
  • Andréa Galerneau, Seigneurie High School, CSS des Premieres-Seigneuries.

First good shot: Attention to well-being 

“What was the most difficult was to keep your motivation. "

- Andrea

If motivation was a big issue for Andréa, she mentions in return having appreciated the fact of being able to sleep longer on days when teaching was done at a distance. “It helped us a lot,” added Broderick. 

Amelia, for her part, mainly named the difficulties related to anxiety and stress generated by the situation. Nathan recalled the great capacity of adolescents to adapt to the many changes that have had an impact on their lives and he underlined their sense of pride to have gone through this period of uncertainty.

In fact, the past year has been destabilizing on a human level. It therefore appeared essential to prioritize not only the well-being of the learners, but also that of the adults who accompany them. 

Amélia spoke of the positive impact that a simple question asked repeatedly by her teachers had on her: “How are you? ". Indeed, for her, the learning context continued to be human thanks to each of these attentions on the part of her teachers. Broderick supported it by adding “It makes a huge difference! ". He also recalled the importance of breaking isolation: “It brings students closer to teachers and it develops strong bonds”.

Several examples were named by the young people:

  • Amelia's English teacher took time to allow them to meditate and ask them how they were doing. “It removes the virtual barrier and makes the situation more human. "
  • Andréa's French teacher understood that all her students were stressed before an important exam period. She took the time to underline each other's strengths by writing them down on a pencil that she gave them. Andrea still has this pencil and it means to her that teachers see what they are doing and who they are, even from a distance. It was a very reassuring gesture for her.
  • Nathan's ethics teacher took the time to ask his students to place themselves on a scale of 1 to 10 to say how they were doing. He also made one-on-one meetings to talk to them. 

"All the young people have lived through difficult times during the pandemic", recalls Amélia, for whom awareness of mental health should be daily in all schools.

Second good shot: The importance of co-education in the digital age

Parents are not only the primary educators of their children, but their contribution has been essential, even essential, in the context where they have often had to learn from home. Maintaining effective communication between school and home has undoubtedly been a major success factor over the past year.

Parents were the eyes of teachers

This year, parents have literally been the eyes of the teachers. In this context, what observations have they gained from sharing with teachers? In our opinion, all those related to the well-being of the child (stress, motivation, sleep, for example) and to academic success (understanding of the work to be done, methods and workload, for example) are important to communicate with the aim of creating a school-family link centered on the establishment of the best learning conditions for young people. 

Let us name a few accomplishments that have made it possible to improve the link between school and home and to support parents in their role.

Third good move: The essential development of digital skills

Regardless of where the teachers started from, they all learned about integrating technology this year. And these learnings will remain. 

If pedagogical practices in a virtual context have developed at high speed, it is most likely thanks to the collaboration and mutual aid of the entire network. Teachers have learned to use digital working environments, video conferencing tools and interactive applications, they have adapted their planning to create the best learning conditions for their students online and more.

What the young people said they liked

Let us return to the testimonies of young people. Amélia appreciated the use of interactive quizzes (on Kahoot for example) by her teachers. “It created a stimulating competitive spirit. In addition, the use of online questionnaires allowed teachers to quickly verify the concepts that the students had and had not mastered.

Some teachers recorded their lessons and cut them into several short video clips to make them available in online workspaces. “I liked having the chance to watch the videos again when I needed them,” Amélia said.

Nathan observed the innovative spirit and creativity of his teachers. For example, his chemistry teacher succeeded in transforming the context of assessment into a laboratory which brought with it its share of stress for the students. Since the virtual classroom no longer made it possible to live the teaching and practice sequence in the laboratory, she adapted everything by integrating demonstration videos. The students thus worked on the drafting of the laboratory report by noting the manipulations observed in the videos as if they had carried out them themselves.  

Amélia spoke about the importance of living more interactive moments online, of working more in collaboration with her comrades. Nathan seconded by recalling the importance of creating more time in sub-groups and of providing direct student-teacher communication channels to ask questions and avoid the embarrassment of having to address them in front of the whole class. 

Andréa ended by recalling the importance of creating a more spontaneous and natural dynamic, even online. “It allows you to laugh, to let go of your crazy, even online. It is important! "

“I want the activities and lesson plans to continue to be available online. It's so helpful to have everything in one place and less stressful. We can no longer forget anything, everything is there! "

- Amelia

 

A virtual course is fine, but the virtual school… no!

According to the testimonies of the young people, their virtual lesson experience was successful. However, the virtual school experience was not there. The nuance is important to them. What makes them want to go to school is the opportunity to see their friends, the exchanges between the lockers, the atmosphere in the school, the extracurricular and everything that is experienced outside of style.

In summary…

By way of conclusion to this evening, Stéphanie Dionne underlined the fact that, in the last year, teachers have not only learned to use technology for student learning and to promote active online pedagogy, but also to invest time in their teacher-student relationship. The pandemic has reminded everyone that in order to learn, young people first need to feel good, to feel that they are being wished for. This period also allowed teachers and parents to come together to better communicate. 

“In a context as special as the one we have experienced, we had better be several to pay attention to the well-being and success of young people. This learning has enabled us to progress together: students, teachers and parents, ”she concluded.

And now, let's hope that these three hits, which have a positive impact in both face-to-face and distance teaching and learning, become the norm for years to come! 

==

The École branchée is proud to contribute to sharing the expertise of the education community in digital integration with parents. Over the past year, our team has contributed in a number of ways. Let us mention:

  • The production of the number Well-being, a lever for learning ... even at a distance, a special edition intended for parents of the École branchée magazine, in partnership with the FCPQ and EPCA and with the financial support of the Ministry of Education.
  • The opening round table of Digital Education Day, organized by the Quebec Ministry of Education, in which more than 6,000 teachers participated in November 2020. You can listen to the compilation of interviews conducted with 9 stakeholders in the education sector on the importance of creating and maintaining the relationship with students at a distance.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

3 bons coups à retenir de la dernière année : bien-être, coéducation et compétence numérique

Le 28 mai dernier, la Fédération des comités de parents du Québec (FCPQ) présentait le RDV festif du numérique. Au cours de cette soirée, Stéphanie Dionne, de l'École branchée, a été invitée à nommer 3 bons coups du milieu de l’éducation en cette année bien particulière.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le 28 mai dernier, la Fédération des comités de parents du Québec (FCPQ) présentait le RDV festif du numérique, une soirée virtuelle offerte gratuitement à tous les parents pendant laquelle notre collègue Stéphanie Dionne a été invitée à nommer 3 bons coups du milieu de l’éducation en cette année bien particulière.

Par ce beau vendredi soir, l’esprit était à la fête pour souligner tout le chemin parcouru au cours de la dernière année, non seulement par les élèves, mais aussi par leurs parents qui les ont soutenus dans leur parcours scolaire et dans leur vie personnelle. 

En fin de soirée, Stéphanie Dionne a présenté les 3 bons coups du numérique. Ceux-ci sont issus des observations et expériences de l’équipe de l’École branchée au cours de la dernière année. D’ailleurs, ces bons coups ont été appuyés par les témoignages d’élèves présents lors de la soirée, venus parler de leur année hors de l’ordinaire et de ce qui a fait la différence pour eux.

Prenons le temps de les nommer ici pour les remercier : 

  • Nathan Acheampong, École Curé-Antoine-Labelle, CSS de Laval;
  • Amélia Drouin, École secondaire Grande-Rivière, CSS des Portages-de-l’Outaouais;
  • Broderick Flannigan, École secondaire de l’Île, CSS des Portages-de-l’Outaouais;
  • Andréa Galerneau, École secondaire de la Seigneurie, CSS des Premières-Seigneuries.

Premier bon coup : L’attention portée au bien-être 

« Ce qui était le plus difficile, c’était de garder sa motivation. »

– Andréa

Si la motivation a été un grand enjeu pour Andréa, elle mentionne en contrepartie avoir apprécié le fait de pouvoir dormir plus longtemps les jours où l’enseignement se faisait à distance. « Ça nous a grandement aidé », a d’ailleurs secondé Broderick. 

Amélia, pour sa part, a principalement nommé les difficultés liées à l’anxiété et au stress générées par la situation. Nathan a quant à lieu rappelé la grande capacité des adolescents à s’adapter aux nombreux changements qui ont eu des impacts sur leur vie et il a souligné leur sentiment de fierté d’avoir traversé cette période d’incertitude.

De fait, la dernière année a été déstabilisante sur le plan humain. Il est alors apparu essentiel de non seulement privilégier le bien-être des apprenants, mais aussi celui des adultes qui les accompagnent. 

Amélia a parlé de l’impact positif qu’une simple question posée à plusieurs reprises par ses enseignants a eu sur elle : « Comment ça va? ». En effet, pour elle, le contexte d’apprentissage a continué d’être humain grâce à chacune de ces attentions de la part de ses enseignants. Broderick l’a appuyée en ajoutant « Ça fait une immense différence! ». Il a aussi rappelé l’importance de briser l’isolement : « Ça rapproche les élèves des enseignants et ça développe des liens forts ».

Plusieurs exemples ont été nommés par les jeunes :

  • L’enseignante d’anglais d’Amélia a pris du temps pour leur permettre de faire de la méditation et leur demander comment ils allaient. « Ça enlève la barrière du virtuel et ça rend la situation plus humaine. »
  • L’enseignante de français d’Andréa a bien compris que tous ses élèves étaient stressés avant une importante période d’examen. Elle a pris le temps de souligner les forces de chacun en les inscrivant sur un crayon qu’elle leur a remis. Andréa a toujours ce crayon et il signifie pour elle que les enseignants voient ce qu’ils font et qui ils sont, même à distance. Cela a été un geste fort rassurant pour elle.
  • L’enseignant d’éthique de Nathan a pris le temps de demander à ses élèves de se situer sur une échelle de 1 à 10 pour dire comment ils allaient. Il a aussi fait des rencontres individuelles pour parler avec eux. 

« Tous les jeunes ont vécu des moments difficiles durant la pandémie », rappelle Amélia, pour qui la sensibilisation à la santé mentale devrait être quotidienne dans toutes les écoles.

Deuxième bon coup : L’importance de la coéducation à l’ère du numérique

Les parents sont non seulement les premiers agents éducateurs de leurs enfants, mais leur apport a été essentiel, voire incontournable, dans le contexte où ils ont souvent dû apprendre de la maison. Le maintien d’une communication efficace entre l’école et la maison a sans aucun doute été un facteur de succès majeur au cours de la dernière année.

Les parents ont été les yeux des enseignants

Cette année, les parents ont littéralement été les yeux des enseignants. Dans ce contexte, quelles observations ces derniers ont-ils gagné à partager avec les enseignants? À notre avis, toutes celles liées au bien-être de l’enfant (stress, motivation, sommeil, par exemple) et à la réussite scolaire (compréhension du travail à faire, méthodes et charge de travail, par exemple) sont importantes à communiquer dans le but de créer un lien école-famille axé sur la mise en place des meilleures conditions d’apprentissage pour les jeunes. 

Nommons quelques réalisations qui ont permis de bonifier le lien entre l’école et la maison et d’appuyer les parents dans leur rôle.

Troisième bon coup : L’essentiel développement de la compétence numérique

Peu importe le point de départ des enseignants, ils ont tous fait des apprentissages liés à l’intégration des technologies cette année. Et ces apprentissages demeureront. 

Si les pratiques pédagogiques dans un contexte virtuel se sont développées à vitesse grand V, c’est fort probablement grâce à la collaboration et l’entraide de tout le réseau. Les enseignants ont appris à utiliser des environnements de travail numérique, des outils de visioconférence et des applications interactives, ils ont adapté leur planification pour créer les meilleures conditions d’apprentissage pour leurs élèves en ligne et plus encore.

Ce que les jeunes ont dit avoir aimé

Revenons aux témoignages des jeunes. Amélia a apprécié l’utilisation de quiz interactifs (sur Kahoot par exemple) par ses enseignants. « Ça créait un esprit de compétition stimulant. » De plus, l’utilisation de questionnaires en ligne permettait aux enseignants de vérifier rapidement les notions que les élèves maîtrisaient ou non.

Certains enseignants ont enregistré leurs cours et ils les ont découpé en plusieurs courtes séquences vidéos pour les rendre disponibles dans les espaces de travail en ligne. « J’ai aimé avoir la chance de revoir les vidéos quand j’en avais besoin », a dit Amélia.

Nathan a quant à lui observé l’esprit d’innovation et la créativité de ses enseignants. Par exemple, son enseignante de chimie a réussi à transformer le contexte d’évaluation en laboratoire qui comportait son lot de stress pour les élèves. Puisque la classe virtuelle ne permettait plus de vivre la séquence d’enseignement et de pratique en laboratoire, elle a adapté le tout en y intégrant des vidéos de démonstration. Les élèves ont ainsi travaillé la rédaction du rapport de laboratoire en notant les manipulations observées dans les vidéos comme s’ils les avaient réalisées eux-mêmes.  

Amélia a parlé de l’importance de vivre des moments en ligne plus interactifs, de travailler davantage en collaboration avec ses camarades. Nathan a secondé en rappelant l’importance de créer plus de moments en sous-groupes et de prévoir des canaux de communication directe élève-enseignant pour poser des questions et éviter la gêne de devoir les adresser devant toute la classe. 

Andréa a terminé en rappelant l’importance de créer une dynamique plus spontanée et naturelle, même en ligne. « Ça permet de rire, de lâcher son fou, même en ligne. C’est important! »

« Je souhaite que les activités et les plans de cours puissent continuer d’être disponibles en ligne. C’est tellement aidant de tout retrouver au même endroit et moins stressant. On ne peut plus rien oublier, tout y est! »

– Amélia

 

Un cours virtuel, ça va, mais l’école virtuelle… non!

D’après les témoignages des jeunes, leur expérience de cours virtuel a été réussie. Cependant, l’expérience d’école virtuelle n’était pas au rendez-vous. La nuance est importante pour eux. Ce qui leur donne le goût d’aller à l’école, c’est la possibilité de voir leurs amis, les échanges entre les casiers, l’ambiance dans l’école, le parascolaire et tout ce qui se vit à l’extérieur de la classe.

En résumé…

En guise de conclusion à cette soirée, Stéphanie Dionne a souligné le fait que, dans la dernière année, les enseignants ont non seulement appris à utiliser la technologie au service des apprentissages des élèves et à favoriser une pédagogie active en ligne, mais aussi à investir du temps dans leur relation enseignant-élèves. La pandémie a rappelé à tous que, pour apprendre, les jeunes ont d’abord besoin de se sentir bien, de sentir qu’on souhaite leur bien. Cette période a également permis aux enseignants et aux parents de s’unir davantage pour mieux communiquer. 

« Dans un contexte aussi particulier que celui que nous avons connu, nous avions intérêt à être plusieurs à être attentif au bien-être et à la réussite des jeunes. Ces apprentissages nous ont permis de progresser tous ensemble : élèves, enseignants et parents », a-t-elle conclu.

Et maintenant, espérons que ces trois bons coups, qui ont un impact positif autant dans l’enseignement et l’apprentissage en présence qu’à distance, deviennent la norme pour les années à venir! 

==

L’École branchée est fière de contribuer au partage de l’expertise du milieu de l’éducation en matière d’intégration du numérique auprès des parents. Au cours de la dernière année, notre équipe y a contribué de différentes façons. Mentionnons :

  • La réalisation du numéro Le bien-être, un levier pour l’apprentissage… même à distance, une édition spéciale destinée aux parents du magazine École branchée, en partenariat avec la FCPQ et EPCA et avec le soutien financier du ministère de l’Éducation.
  • La table ronde d’ouverture de la Journée du numérique en éducation, organisée par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec, à laquelle plus de 6 000 enseignants ont participé en novembre 2020. Vous pouvez écouter la compilation des entrevues réalisées avec 9 acteurs du milieu de l’éducation sur l’importance de créer et maintenir la relation avec les élèves à distance.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct