20 years after the attacks of September 11, 2001: artists come back to the effects

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

20 years after the attacks of September 11, 2001, which claimed the lives of thousands of Americans, Quebec artists of North African origin look back at the effects of racism they have since been victims of in a sobering web series.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

We have to learn to live together as brothers, otherwise we will all die together like idiots.

Martin Luther King

Remember, 20 years ago, two planes were heading towards the twin towers of the World Trade Center in New York. At the time, we thought it was an accident, but when the second plane took the same path as the first, it was now clear that we were dealing with an attack. This was committed by the Islamic group Al-Qaeda which is a group of people with religious ideas qualified as extremists. This resulted in several deaths, injuries and missing.

To commemorate this sad anniversary, several Quebec artists, including Safia Nolin, Mehdi Bousaidan and the musician Chafiik, present as part of a web series their lives before and after September 11, 2001. In fact, following this tragedy, people of Arab origin experienced difficult situations. The series seeks to demonstrate the effects, even after all these years. For example, the comedian Mehdi Bousaidan tells how he was overpowered and handcuffed by the authorities during his visit to the National School of Humor in Montreal because a woman denounced a Maghreb who entered with a big bag. This article from La Presse tells us more.  

These are of course not the only people who have been credited with bad intentions as a result of the terrible events. Have you ever witnessed situations where someone had racist behavior towards another person? 

Racism: Is it justified to be afraid of people who have other origins?

In the article, we see that the webseries deals with the lived experiences of artists who, by their origins, have attracted judgments and fear from certain people. What should we think of it? Is it justified to be afraid of people who have other origins? Is this a demonstration of racism? This is a good question to ask the students in the group.

To enrich the reflection, we can use a collaborative notes application such as Jamboard, Padlet or Whiteboard. Their tools allow you to add style notes post-its or icons to organize the information well! This way all students can have their say and it can lead the discussion, whether oral or written. 

In this guide

Disciplines: Ethics and religious culture / French
Degree: 3rd cycle of primary and 1st cycle of secondary

Dimensions of digital competence: 

  • Producing content with digital
  • Innovate and be creative with digital 
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy 
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning 

Elements of the program: 

  • Reflect on ethical questions
  • Practice dialogue

 


SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

20 ans après les attentats du 11 septembre 2001 : des artistes reviennent sur les effets

Paru / Mis à jour le

20 ans après les attentats du 11 septembre 2001, qui ont coûté la vie à des milliers d'américains, des artistes québécois d'origine maghrébine reviennent sur les effets du racisme dont ils ont été victimes depuis dans une websérie qui fait réfléchir.

Nous devons apprendre à vivre ensemble comme des frères, sinon nous allons mourir tous ensemble comme des idiots.

Martin Luther King

Souvenons-nous, il y a maintenant 20 ans, deux avions fonçaient sur les deux tours jumelles du World Trade Center à New York. Sur le coup, on croyait à un accident, mais quand le deuxième avion prit la même trajectoire que le premier, il était maintenant clair que nous avions affaire à un attentat. Celui-ci a été commis par le groupe islamique Al-Qaïda qui constitue un regroupement de personnes ayant des idées religieuses qualifiées d’extrémistes. Il s’en est résulté plusieurs morts, blessés et disparus.

Pour commémorer ce triste anniversaire, plusieurs artistes québécois, dont Safia Nolin, Mehdi Bousaidan et le musicien Chafiik, présentent dans le cadre d’une websérie leur vie avant et après le 11 septembre 2001. En effet, suite à ce drame, des gens d’origine arabe ont vécu des situations difficiles. La série cherche à en démontrer les effets, même après toutes ces années. Par exemple, l’humoriste Mehdi Bousaidan raconte comment il a été maitrisé et menotté par les autorités lors de son passage à l’École nationale de l’humour à Montréal car une femme a dénoncé un Maghrébin entré avec un gros sac. Cet article de La Presse nous en dit plus.  

Ce ne sont bien sûr pas les seules personnes qui se sont faites prêter de mauvaises intentions à la suite des terribles événements. Avez-vous déjà été témoin de situations où quelqu’un avait un comportement raciste envers une autre personne? 

Le racisme : Est-il justifié d’avoir peur des gens qui ont d’autres origines?

Dans l’article, on voit que la websérie porte sur des expériences vécues par des artistes qui, de par leurs origines, se sont attirés des jugements et de la peur de la part de certaines personnes. Que doit-on en penser? Est-il justifié d’avoir peur des gens qui ont d’autres origines? Est-ce une démonstration de racisme? Voilà une bonne question à poser aux élèves du groupe.

Pour enrichir la réflexion, on peut utiliser une application de notes collaboratives comme Jamboard, Padlet ou Whiteboard. Leurs outils permettent d’ajouter des notes de style post-its ou des icônes afin de bien organiser l’information! De cette façon, tous les élèves peuvent se prononcer et cela peut diriger la discussion, qu’elle soit orale ou écrite. 

Dans ce guide

Disciplines : Éthique et culture religieuse/Français
Degré : 3e cycle du primaire et 1er cycle du secondaire

Dimensions de la compétence numérique : 

  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Innover et faire preuve de créativité avec le numérique 
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle 
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage 

Éléments du programme : 

  • Réfléchir sur des questions éthiques
  • Pratiquer le dialogue

 


Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!